Mon-Sat: Closed Sun: Closed (210) 458-2300

Staff & Advisors

Kimberly Andrews Espy, Ph.D., Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Veronica Rodriguez, Head of Web/UX, Interim Head Curator
Vacant, Curator of Education
Christina Winston, Exhibit Coordinator
Kandice Fambro, Manager, Volunteer Services
Kirstin Cutts, Library Services Assistant IV
Adriana Christian, Museum Collections Manager
Giselle Diaz, Senior Administrative Associate
Vacant, Web Developer
Vacant, Multimedia Designer II
Dean Hendrix, Dean of Libraries
Carolyn Ellis, Senior Associate Dean of Administration
Cheri Bratton, Administrative Services Officer III
Vincent Genco, Operations Specialist
Joaquin Herrera, Director of Communications
James Benavides, Senior Communications Specialist
Marcela Summerville, ASO II Dean’s Office Operations
Kristin Aguero, Administrative Associate II
Amanda Davis, Department Fiscal Specialist
Amy Rushing, Assistant Dean for Special Collections
Tom Shelton, Photo Curator, UTSA Libraries Special Collections
Carlos Cortez, Library Assistant III
Arturo Almeida, Art Specialist
Felipe Barerra, Director of Development
Vacant, Development Assistant

Community Advisory Council

The UTSA Institute of Texan Cultures engages with community and academic leaders to assure that its exhibits and programs represent the public interest and adhere to the institute’s mission of preserving heritage and championing diversity. Members represent a broad spectrum of business fields and academic disciplines. The Community Advisory Council has a role in the Institute’s community involvement and often seek out partnership and philanthropic opportunities for the Institute.

Corky Rubio, Owner at Siderco International
Alicia Treviño, DHR Architects
Anita Fernandez, Office of Honorable State Rep. Diego Bernal
David Johnson, UTSA Professor Emeritus
Epitacio Resendez, Rancher in Mexico; Real Estate Investor
Frank Herrera, Law Office of Frank Herrera
Ginger Purdy, Community Organizer
GP Singh, Chair Community Leader for Sikh DharamSal
Guy Douglas, Media Brokers Group CEO/President
Helen Bryan, Corporate Services Consulting Executive at Bryan Group
Howard Peak, Emeritus, Former Mayor of San Antonio
Jeff Pruett, Vice President, Principal Relationship Manager at Wells Fargo
Lionel Sosa, CEO of YesOurKidsCan.org and Founder, Sosa & Sosa Consultation & Design
Mary Alice Cisneros, Founder/former President of American Sunrise
Matt Olivera
Raul Lomeli, Executive Chairman at SABEResPODER
Rebeca “Becky” Barrera, Latino Cultural Program Design
Sabrina Avila, CEO/President of Brand Panacea Business Development, Marketing & Print

Faculty Advisory Board

The ITC Faculty Advisory Board is comprised of distinguished academic professionals that represent diverse disciplines. These individuals lend their expertise to assure that the Institute’s exhibits and programs are academically sound, guaranteeing that what is presented to the public is accurate.

Amy Rushing, UTSA Library Head of Special Collections
Betty Merchant, UTSA Professor, College of Education and Human Development
Dean Hendrix, UTSA Dean of Libraries
Gerry Poyo, Chair, Department of History, St. Mary’s University
John Phillip Santos, UTSA University Distinguished Scholar in Mestizo Cultural Studies
John Reynolds, UTSA Professor Emeritus, Department of History
Laura Levi, UTSA Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology
Lauren Turk, Assistant Professor, Department of History, Trinity University
Lopita Nath, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of History; and Coordinator, Asian Studies Program, University of the Incarnate Word
C Alejandra Elenes, Department Chair and Professor, Race, Ethnicity, Gender & Sexuality Studies
Margit Nagy, Professor/Program Head of History, Our Lady of the Lake University
Rhonda Gonzales, UTSA Professor History, Department of History
Rogelio Saenz, UTSA Professor, Demography
Sandy Norman, Associate Professor, Assistant Department Chair, UTSA Department of Mathematics
Sarah Gould, Historian and researcher
Scott Sherer, UTSA Associate Professor of Art History and Gallery Director
Shawn Marceaux, Director, UTSA Center for Archaeological Research
Simran Jeet Singh, Assistant Professor, Department of Religion, Trinity University
Tim Draves, Department of History, University of the Incarnate Word
Wan Xiang Yao, UTSA Professor of Kinesiology, Health, & Nutrition

Contact us at libraries@utsa.edu